Upcycling and Repurposing

Standard

Ava Kitsch Jewellery holds a strong belief in upcycling and repurposing.  But just what do I mean by that?

Repurposing is defined by google.com as to “adapt for use in a different purpose”.  With a strong influence from the steampunk and dieselpunk genres, I often utilise vintage watch parts and pieces of hardware in my designs.  By using vintage components, the pieces I create are given a history all of their own.  With a thousand stories to tell, each piece is truly unique.

steampunk brooch

Upcycling is to “use (discarded objects or material) in such a way as to create a product of higher quality or value than the original” (source: goggle.com).  You will often find vintage components from broken pieces of jewellery incorporated into my designs, giving them a second life as something entirely new.  This often means the pieces I make are entirely bespoke, unique, one of a kind pieces that are never to be replicated.

IMG_4109a copy

The beauty of upcycling and repurposing is that many of the pieces I make are truly bespoke.  Combining the old with the new, unique pieces of jewellery are made that transcend time.

That’s Ava Kitch’s philosophy: repurpse and upcycle to make something truly unique at an affordable price.  And I like to think I’m doing a little bit of good too, saving something that would otherwise be thrown away.

Vist my folksy shop by clicking an image above or visting folksy.com/shops/AvaKitsch

Leave a Reply

