Where did January go?

Standard

Is it just me or did we skip January, I really can’t believe we are half way through February, only 6 weeks until Easter. I am well overdue to return to blogging and working on my business.

I’m not going to lie, I find it really difficult to juggle my 2 part time jobs and my business, I also like to help and have lots of additional projects on the go, these projects often take me away from the work that makes me happiest, my own creative business make jewellery and gifts. It sometimes feels like I’m spinning plates and trying to juggle at the same time. I now find myself in the position of having to make some difficult choices, I really can’t do everything, although I firmly believe I can at the time.

I always take 2 weeks off over Christmas to recharge my batteries and review my business, my reviewing process however has stretched into 2016 this time. I started my business in 2012 and at that time all I wanted to do was make jewellery, now my goals have changed and become more defined. I’m still continuing on finding my own distinctive style, and I’m trying to find a way to bring my passions together so I can be more productive and make my business a viable career that generates an income.

One of the big changes for 2016 is the title of my blog, I’ve switched it from Ava Kitsch (the name of my business) to The Northern Crafter because I wanted to share more than just jewellery, over the past 18 months my business has changed and also includes a range of gifts with a strong emphasis on upcycling. I am also obsessed with crochet and I am still developing my own range of accessories and writing my own patterns.

As you can see there is a lot going on with lots planned for 2016 with new jewellery, accessories for crochet and knitting enthusiasts and more free patterns on the way soon.

Here is a preview of a pattern coming soon, this is my first ever crochet doll, this has been my project for this week, my mam jokingly called me a wool whisperer as I explained that the wool told me the design. When I design a crochet pattern I don’t sit down with a sketch I just grab a hook and some yarn and I just let the design flow from that, if it is a success I call it a happy accident.

image

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I hope you have had an amazing start to 2016 and I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

