Getting ready for the new Jarrow Market

Standard

Craft Market Preparation

This Sunday (16th October) I am selling at a brand new market in Jarrow, Jarrow Stalls @ The Viking Centre. It is an exciting opportunity to support other local businesses and meet lots of new people. We are expecting a great turnout for this event so I want to be prepared.

Getting ready for craft markets can be time consuming. I try to build up a buffer of stock but this has been running low after a successful summer selling at Harton Quays.

If you want to find out why I love Harton Quays you can read about it here.

On Friday I got an exciting delivery of gift boxes for my jewellery. I try to order these in bulk so I will have enough boxes for my jewellery for future markets. I don’t want to run out of stock at a market, this would be terrible. This weekend my craft market preparations include a lot of extra tasks because of my special delivery. I also wanted to use this weekend as an opportunity to get ready for my upcoming Christmas markets too.

img_20161009_095126_edited

After unpacking all my boxes the next step is to write my website on the back of all the boxes. I have got a stamp and this would be easier but I like the personal touch. It is important to me that people buying my jewellery know that each product, including the packaging is made with love.

img_20161009_101006_edited

I have experimented  a lot with creating my brand. The next stage of getting my boxes ready for market is hand stamping them. Each box is slightly different making them unique. I stamp them in batches, I love how they look when they are finished but stamping over 100 boxes is boring.

img_20161009_103331_edited

I have been feeling super creative recently so I already have 40 pairs of earrings made ready for their new boxes.

img_20161009_121358_edited

Essential Craft Market Kit

  • Cash tin – plenty of change
  • Carrier bags
  • Mirror
  • Table Cloth
  • Banner
  • Pen
  • Paper
  • Scissors
  • Tape
  • String
  • Blue Tack
  • Price Tags
  • Bottle of Water
  • Tissues
  • Plasters

I have a lot to set up so I have a box of props I use on the stall and an A and B box for stock. Box A goes on the table and box B is used to replenish sold stock. I still have some finishing off to do but most of this week will be focused on marketing so people will know where to find me.

img_20161009_132629_edited

What do you do to get ready for craft markets? What is in your essential craft market kit?

Leave a Reply

