Chunky Plait Scarf – Free Pattern

image

Hello friend,

I hope this blog post finds you well, I’m definitely feeling more energised by the blue skies and lighter nights.

I thought I would share a new pattern with you, at the weekend while Osmond was watching a particularly grim film for a Saturday night I decided to hook this fashion scarf, like many of my designs I’m not really sure what the end result will be but it turned into a quick and easy pattern and it can be made in one evening.

I used a 6mm hook and this yarn is supposed to be DK but it feels more like an Aran when it is being crocheted, an Aran yarn would be better to give it some structure.

Pattern Instructions (make 3, ensuring the length of each is the same)

Foundation chain, chain 141 stitches
Row 1: Starting in the second chain from dc in each stitch until the end, turn (140)
Row 2: Chain 3 (counts as tr) tr in next stitch and each stitch until the end, turn
(139, chain 3)
Row 3: Chain 1, dc in each stitch until the end, dc in the top of the ch 3, turn (140)
Row 4: Repeat row 2
Row 5: Repeat row 3, fasten off.

I found it easier to weave in the loose ends before joining them.

Joining the pieces

Row 1: Lie them down flat, join the yarn at the end of the first section working 7 dc stitches evenly across the end of the piece before joining each of the 2 remaining pieces. All 3 pieces should now be joined by a row of 21 dc stitches, turn.

Row 2: ch 1, dc in each stitch until the end, fasten off.

Once the 3 pieces are joined, the next stage is to plait them, I found it easier to lie them on the floor to do this. It may take a little trial and error, don’t plait it too tightly however as it a not lie correctly.

Once you are happy with your plait repeat rows 1 and 2 from above.

To finish off you could ss the ends together or sew an even seam, whichever you prefer.

Have fun hooking this project, if you need any help send me a message, I would love to see the end result.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Happy hooking x

5 thoughts on “Chunky Plait Scarf – Free Pattern

  1. Sui Lucero says:

    Hi, Miss Sam, I came upon your Chunky Plait Scarf while browsing for crochet patterns for scarves. I am quite interested to make this as an accessory to my clothing. Reading thru your instruction and already imagining the stitches, I am a bit perplexed on the repeat Row 1 & 2. Did you mean repeat row 1 & 2 on the other end of the plaited scarf that hasn’t been worked on for pattern Row 1 & 2? Please clarify for me. Thanks so much and may God bless you for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Sam Osmond says:

      Hi I’m so glad you like the pattern, thank you for highlighting that, the instruction isn’t very clear so I will amend it on the blog post. Once you have plaited your scarf you will need to secure it, I did this by working 2 rows of dc stitches, repeating row 1 and row 2 on the open end of the plait. So at both ends of the scarf you will have 2 rows of dc stitches, this will make it easier to stitch it together. I hope this makes it clearer for you. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog, I would love to see a picture when you are finished.

      • Sui Lucero says:

        Good morning, Ms. Sam. Thank you so much for your quick and clarificatory response. Much appreciated πŸ™‚ I do get it now. Sure, I will show you my work once i get it done. I applaud you for sharing such wonderful crochet projects ❀ ❀ ❀ More power to you and your blog πŸ™‚

Leave a comment